thecocknbullkid

thecocknbullkidHere’s some common knowledge for you: 50 percent of the Batman movies made in the ’90s were terrible. I try my best to block them out. But I remember, vaguely, in Batman & Robin or Batman Forever (one of the awful ones with Chris O’Donnell as Robin) that there was a party sequence where everybody was dancing to this very defined ’90s music. When I listen to thecocknbullkid (east London’s Anita Blay), I’m reminded of that scene.

No, not because I think her music is on par with a moment where Mr. Freeze busts in with minions and terrible puns or when George Clooney’s eyes meet Uma Thurman’s. It’s because her music feels like a ’90s dance party, except more well written and executed than anything that immediately comes to mind from that era. Thecocknbullkid’s electropop R&B-meets-disco sound is what the kids from Buffy The Vampire Slayer wish they were dancing at The Bronze.

thecocknbullkid – “Clean Apart” (from Querelle EP)

The Querelle EP is out now via IAMSOUND, the great label that brought you the Suckers s/t EP. Forget about how thoroughly nerdy this post is and check out her list.

five tunes

1) Florence And The Machine – “Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)” (from Lungs) – “I’m a big Florence fan and think she’s one of the best contemporary acts we have. Live she is breathtaking. This song sounds like the sort of epic I have always wanted to make. Its brilliantly produced and executed. Her lyrics are beautiful and chilling at the same time.”

2) Dizzee Rascal – “Bonkers” – “I won’t lie. I hated this song when I first heard it. But it didn’t translate until I heard it on a proper set of speakers. I always play it in my DJ sets. Just such a massive track.”

3) Olivia Newton-John & ELO – “Xanadu” (from the soundtrack of Xanadu) – “I love ELO. Everything Jeff Lynne touches turns to gold. It’s a perfect pop song and sounds great in this beautiful weather.”

4) Wolf Gang – “Night Flying” – “Wolf Gang is Max, a 22-year-old guy who lives in London. He writes ambitious and timeless sounding songs. He hasn’t released a single yet but he will be massive. Listen out for the name very soon. This was up as a demo on his page recently, not sure if it still is. I’m obsessed with his songwriting. He loves Roxy Music, Talking Heads and Peter Gabriel. He’s great at the classic songwriting, often writing two choruses in one song—that’s the holy grail of songwriting. And he makes it sound so bloody effortless!”

5) The Psychedelic Furs – “Love My Way” (from All Of This And Nothing) – “One of the best songs ever written in my opinion. It’s simple and honest. They’ve inspired a lot of the songwriting for my album.”

thecocknbullkid – iTunes | Insound | Lala

Leave a Reply

